The Champault family estate was founded in the 17th century. Edmé Champault was the first wine maker from ancient written documents but the winemaking process actually started in the mid XIXth century, around 1850.
After phylloxera caused the destruction of the vineyard at the end of the XIXth century, Louis Champault, called Louison, took over the winery, which at that time totaled 2 hectares and he bought his first straddle tractor. The family run winery then started to grow. Roger Champault, his son, continued with the family business until his sons Claude and Laurent, took over the winery in 1996. Modernisation started to take place with the introduction of thermoregulated stainless steel tanks into the cave along with modern wine presses, helping to make the whole viticulture process more efficient and current.
The winery as it exists today is situated in the small hamlet of Champtin near the village of Crézancy-en-Sancerre, 8 km south of the town of Sancerre. Vines are planted on steep slopes with the famous terroir of the Sancerre region. The winery has accumulated 22 hectares with Claude and Laurent at the helm of this beautiful estate, they welcome you to discover the delightful wines they are so proud of.
The coat of arms
This originates from François Perreau, lord of Champtin who owned the prestigious Dove Cote building in the 16th century, Fully restored, it is used today as our tasting room.